About BSO

You are here


The British Society of Otology (BSO) is dedicated to the development of otology and the advancement of public education and research on hearing and balance in the United Kingdom. In addition to the BSO Annual meeting, the Society runs educational courses, maintaining professional development in the diverse fields of the sub-speciality.


The Society also has the role of advising ENT UK and the Department of Health on matters relating to otology and audiology. The BSO council is elected by BSO members and meets three times a year at the Royal Society of Medicine.


Membership of the Society is open to any otologist practising in the United Kingdom who is a member of ENT UK, with associate membership offered to trainees in otology and other professionals with an interest in the sub-specialty. Overseas membership is offered to approved otologists practising abroad. Membership of the BSO is without charge. To download an application form please visit our membership page.


BSO Committee Members

To view member's profiles click on their names below:

Philip Robinson President of the British Society of Otology 
Richard Irving Recent Past President of the British Society of Otology 
Peter Rea Secretary of the British Society of Otology 
Kay Seymour Treasurer of the British Society of Otology
Joe Manjaly AOT representative
Stephen Backhouse BSO Council member
Ian Bottrill BSO Council member
Philip Clamp BSO Council member
BSO Council member
Jeremy Lavy BSO Council member
Simon Lloyd BSO Council member
John Phillips BSO Council member
Christopher Raine BSO Council member
BSO Council member
Wendy Smith  BSO Council member
Manohar Bance BSO Council member
David Strachan BSO Council member
Peter Valentine BSO Council member
Peter Monksfield BSO Council member