Skip to main content

History and past presidents


Originally known as Facial Plastic Surgery UK (FPSUK), the organisation was formed as an advisory body of facial plastic surgeons within the auspices of ENT UK. With key support from Professor Valerie Lund, the President of ENT UK, the British Society of Facial Plastic Surgery was founded in 2012. The society was then known as FPS-UK and Professor Tim Woolford became the first President. The aim was to establish a society that represented ENT Surgeons with an interest in Facial Plastic Surgery (FPS), promoting training and high standards of surgical practice for the benefit of patients and for the purpose of advising the ENT UK Council on FPS matters.

With the support of many colleagues, Tim set about organising an administrative structure for the society with regional representation and the first annual meeting was held at the Royal College of Surgeons with over 100 delegates attending.  The keynote speaker was Professor Pietro Palma from Milan, who at the time was the President of the European Academy of Facial Plastic Surgery (EAFPS).  This helped to build the relationship between FPS UK & the EAFPS, with recognition that the new society was a credible national FPS society.  Professor Alwyn D’Souza took over the Presidency in 2016, followed by Professor Hesham Saleh, Professor Peter Andrews and the current President, Mr Natarajan Balaji. All are eminent UK Facial Plastic Surgeons, and each has provided leadership, making significant changes and advancements serving an ever-increasing society membership.

Although the Society remains affiliated to ENT UK, to reflect the number of members and increased profile of the society, the name was officially changed in 2018 to the British Society of Facial Plastic Surgery (BSFPS). The BSFPS is now well established as a subspecialty society and has represented ENT UK on important Interspecialty committees on the national stage, such as the Royal College of Surgeons Cosmetic Surgery Certification Committee and the Training Interface Group in Reconstructive & Cosmetic Surgery. Office bearers are elected through a democratic process that involves polling all ENT UK members who have expressed an interest in being involved in the activities of FPS UK.

Education remains a key function of the society, consolidated by the introduction of an annual cadaveric course initially held in Manchester before moving to Nottingham in 2023. A program of on-line lectures began during the COVID-19 era, and this has continued. The annual meeting remains the main event of the year with a program covering the breadth of FPS, featuring eminent speakers from both ENT and other specialties. The BSFPS has evolved as the profile and popularity of FPS has increased within ENT. A newsletter informs the membership of society activity, and an active junior’s section has been established with a dedicated educational meeting the day before the main annual meeting. The BSFPS also plays a key role in organising the FPS program for the British Academic Conference in Otolaryngology, and FPS now has equal status with other ENT subspecialties at the conference, being now well established as a sub-specialty of ENT surgery.

by Professor Tim Woolford



Professor Tim Woolford

Professor Tim Woolford was the Founding President of The British Society of Facial Plastic Surgery (BSFPS). He held office from 2012-2016.

Prof Tim Woolford is a Consultant ENT Surgeon. He recently retired from the Manchester Royal Infirmary where his surgical practice was almost entirely dedicated to nasal plastic & reconstructive surgery. Tim continues in private, mainly medicolegal practice and holds an Honorary Clinical Chair at Edge Hill University. He was the past President of The Royal Society of Medicine Section of Laryngology and Rhinology. He has written numerous papers and book chapters and was the Editor of the Plastic Surgery volume of Scott Brown. Tim is also an Assistant Editor of the Journal of Laryngology & Otology and teaches and lectures widely in the UK and Internationally.


Professor Alwyn D’Souza

A person in a suit and tieDescription automatically generated

Professor Alwyn D’Souza: MBBS, FRCS Eng, FRCS (ORL-HNS), PGCert MedEd, was the second president of the  British Society of Facial Plastic Surgery (BSFPS) between 2016-2018. 

Professor D”Souza is a London-based, Board Certified, Consultant Aesthetic and Reconstructive Facial Plastic Surgeon with vast experience in both surgical and non-surgical facial aesthetics. He is also the current (2023) President of the European Academy of Facial Plastic Surgery (, and is also the Editor-in-chief of ‘Facial Plastic Surgery Journal’. He is the lead for the MCh programme in Aesthetic facial surgery and minimally invasive facial interventions at Canterbury Christchurch University.


Professor Hesham Saleh

Professor Hesham Saleh was the third president of the British Society of Facial Plastic Surgery (BSFPS) between 2018 -2020.

He is professor of Practice (Rhinology) at the Imperial College and Consultant Rhinologist and Facial Plastic Surgeon at Charing Cross and the Royal Brompton Hospitals. He is Board-Certified in Facial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery by the European and International Boards. He was also the Past President of the European Academy of Facial Plastic Surgery (EAFPS) and the Past President of the section of Laryngology & Rhinology in the Royal Society of Medicine (RSM). He has been honoured with the Claus D. Walter Award for Academic Excellence in the American Academy of Facial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery, and W. J. Harrison Award in the Royal Society of Medicine for the greatest contribution towards advancement of knowledge in the section of Laryngology and Rhinology.


Professor Peter Andrews

Professor Peter Andrews BSc. (Hons), MD, FRCS (ORL-HNS) was the fourth president of the British Society of Facial Plastic Surgery (BSFPS) between 2020-2022.

Professor Andrews is a Senior Rhinologist and Facial Plastic Surgeon at the Royal National ENT and Eastman Dental Hospital and Consultant Anterior Skull Base Surgeon at the National Hospital for Neurology and Neurosurgery. He is also Professor of Rhinology at University College London (UCL). His research interests and PhD themes are medical device innovation and surgical treatments for smell loss with strong collaborations with the Institute of Neurology, Neuroradiology and Biomedical Engineering at UCL. He is the Current President (2023) of the British Rhinology Society and Immediate Past President of the Rhinology Section of the Royal Society of Medicine and British Society of Facial Plastic Surgery.