Skip to main content



Women in ENT Surgery UK is an organisation affiliated with ENT UK with a primary remit to inspire, empower and support women in all stages of training including qualified Consultants in ENT around the United Kingdom. We are also supported by Women in Surgery (WinS). 

WENTS was established at BACO 2015 by Prof Claire Hopkins and Ms Laurie Baxter. In January 2021, the group  became known as WENTS UK. However, our focus remains on improving and enabling diversity and inclusivity within ENT Surgery. A challenging task executed by the WENTS UK committee in collaboration with doctors of all genders, fellow societies, educational institutions, industry leaders and many others. In support of our members, we strive to develop strategies to address out-dated workplace attitudes underpinned by robust research; providing a tool box to facilitate positive change; facilitating a mentorship programme encompassing surgeons in training and qualified consultants amongst various other activities. At our core lies the belief that women and men are equally capable and ought to be valued alike.


WENTS shall inspire, empower and support women and diversity in all stages of training and working in ENT around the UK.


Full membership of WENTS UK is free to ENT UK members. You can sign up here.


You can also keep up with news and activities by following WENTS UK on social media:

Twitter: @UKWENTs 

Facebook: WENTS UK

Newsletter: To sign up for our newsletter and to receive emails about our activities and exciting events please subscribe here and select Women in ENT Surgery - WENTS UK

If you have any queries regarding the above please contact us.


Ms Anna Slovick and Ms Katherine Conroy  - Co-Chair

Prof Claire Hopkins - Patron

Tharsika Myuran - Secretary

Ravina Tanna - Treasurer

Victoria Sinclair - SAS representative

Melissa Flynn and Tanya Ta - Foundation Representatives 

Alex Ashman - Social Media Representative

Clair Saxby - AOT representative 

Mentoring Subcommittee

Emma Stapleton
Natalie Watson
Yasmin Abbas
Rujuta Roplekar Bance
Paula Coyle