Important changes to the allocation of Tier 5 visas

You are here

Important changes to the allocation of Tier 5 visas

From April 2017 the Department of Health, Health Education England and the Academy of Medical Royal Colleges (AoMRC) agreed changes to the arrangements for processing applications for MTI Certificates of Sponsorship (CoS) from applicants from countries other than those identified as DfID priority countries or World Bank Low Income and Lower Middle Income Countries (LI & LMI).

New applications received by the AoMRC from countries not considered DfID priority or LI&LMI countries now will be placed on a revised waiting list and will be processed only if and when there is capacity.

The MTI Scheme was established by the UK Department of Health in February of 2009 as an immigration category under the Tier 5 Government Authorised Exchange (GAE) class of the points based immigration system. The Tier 5 GAE permits entry to the UK for overseas nationals coming to undertake exchanges or educational initiatives sponsored by government departments.

The prioritisation and allocation criteria was updated in January 2017 to reflect the Department of Health’s main focus for doctors from the DFiD priority and L&LMI countries to benefit from the scheme and, therefore giving priority to developing healthcare systems.

A list of the countries which comprise the DfID priorities and the World Bank Low Income and Lower Middle Income countries is set out below. Applicants from any country NOT in this list will be covered by the new arrangements and can have no guarantee or expectation of receiving a COS.

Afghanistan, Armenia, Bangladesh, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Burkina Faso, Burma, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Cote d’Ivoire, Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Egypt, Arab Rep.
El Salvador, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gambia, Ghana, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Honduras, India, Indonesia, Iraq, Jordan, Kenya, Kiribati, Korea, Dem. People’s Rep, Kosovo, Kyrgyzstan, Lao PDR, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia
Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Micronesia, Fed. Sts, Moldova, Mongolia
Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Occupied Palestinian Territories, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Rwanda, Samoa
Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Swaziland, Syria, Tajikistan, Tanzania
Timor-Leste, Togo, Tonga, Tunisia, Uganda, Ukraine, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu
Vietnam, West Bank and Gaza, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe

For further information please go to the AoMRC website: